Offered for the first time following a masterful restoration by some of the nation’s leading artisans, this magnificent single family townhouse with elevator service to all floors, commands pride of place on a tree lined, gas-lit block of one of Boston’s most exclusive residential thoroughfares- Back Bay’s Marlborough Street.
This unique residence affords nearly 7500 square feet of extraordinary interior living space, plus five exterior spaces, including a stunning roof deck, walk out terraces, grilling deck, and private landscaped courtyard. Grand scale, high ceilings throughout, and oversized windows allow for exceptional quality of light and air.
Offering unparalleled opportunities for family living and first class entertaining, this home offers seven bedrooms, five full baths, four half baths, three laundry facilities, and two kitchens. State of the art technology controls whole house lighting, security, audio visual, and solar shades. Seven zones manage radiant heated flooring and central air conditioning systems. Simply put, this residence offers every luxury.
132 Marlborough was built ca. 1871 for building contractor John Farrington, probably for speculative sale. It was one of three contiguous houses (132-134-136 Marlborough).
By 1872, 132 Marlborough was the home of dry goods merchant Edward Sturgis Grew and his wife, Annie Crawford (Clark) Grew. They previously had lived at 29 Brimmer. Annie Grew is shown as the owner of 132 Marlborough on the 1874 Hopkins map and on the 1883 Bromley map. They also maintained a summer home, All Oaks, in Manchester.
By 1962, 132 Marlborough was owned by Channing MacDonald. In August of 1962, he filed for (and subsequently received) permission to convert the property from a single-family dwelling into a lodging house.
The property subsequently changed hands and remained a lodging house until 2011, when the current owners masterfully converted it back to a grand single family home.